Poor Fool, He Makes Me Laugh

So another one to tick off on the theatre list, I’ve been a lucky girl recently!

I haven’t seen Phantom for years, and the production I saw (if I remember correctly) wasn’t the original production, at least if it was I didn’t remember much of it! And that chandelier definitely wasn’t in it before!

Her Majesty's Theatre on Haymarket

Her Majesty's Theatre on Haymarket

We bought our tickets from lastminute.com as second price seats which I was a bit worried about but it turned out to be great! Front row of the dress circle, seats A5 and A6. Had a great view for pretty much the entire show and only had to sit up in our seats a bit when the actors came downstage right. I don’t want to ruin it for people who haven’t seen it before, but I would not want to be in the stalls with that wobbly chandelier! Although I guess it all adds to the excitement.

The show was spectacular, some of the songs are a little bit dated (very eighties) but of course still brilliant. I could almost see Brightman appearing with her perm (sadly this didn’t happen).

Masquerade still remains my favourite song and it didn’t disappoint. The costumes, oh the costumes. The actress playing Carlotta was especially excellent, and Christine was brilliant. I’d recommend anyone to see this show, if you can see past the slightly dated overture, which can sound rather electronic at times. God bless Webber!

~ by franhaselden on April 14, 2010.

Leave a Reply

